4C: Photography Activity

Light 1: Outside

Light 1: Outside

Light 2: Inside

Light 2: Inside

Focus 1 - Foreground

Focus 1 – Foreground

Focus 2 – Background

Composition 1 - Thirds

Composition 1 – Thirds

Composition 2 – Lead Room

I loved learning how to take charge of my camera and finally get some good results. For the first image I metered the center on the sky and lightened the foreground in Photoshop for overall good exposure. Then I took a photo of my friends’ baby in the beautiful natural window light in our extra bedroom. For the focus images, I took the same photo of matruska dolls, with plenty of window light coming in. (Otherwise I would have to gone outside.)  I used the macro option on my point-and-shoot camera to blur the background. Then I turned the macro off and focused on the plant in the background, which made the dolls blurry in the close foreground. I tried this a few times, but could not get it until I made sure there was plenty of distance between the two subjects.

Finally, I had fun taking an image at Bannack ghost town to show the rule of thirds. I put the barber chair right and cowboy boots on the one third lines and the top of buildings on a one-third line. Then for the last photo, I framed Max’s eyes on the one-third line, kept him to the side of the frame and faced him into the frame to allow lead room.


Leave a comment